A call to join the fight! #StopAdani 

It’s time to act! 

A call to join the fight. 

As a young sailor in the RAN in 1964 I was fortunate enough to be on a naval survey ship HMAS Gascoyne. The ship spent several months surveying the Great Barrier Reef. 

We travelled the entire reef from top to bottom and out to the continental shelf. 

The reef was in pristine condition, I was blown away with the beauty & the abundance of wildlife. 

I fell in love with the reef & Far North Queensland. My wife & I often flew to Cairns for holidays & in 2002 when I retired we moved to Cairns. I introduced my grandchildren to the charms of the reef by taking them on snorkelling trips to the reef.


In 2016 & 2017 the coral suffered back to back bleaching due to abnormally high sea temperatures. Climate change was killing the coral and putting much of the reef at risk. I was troubled by the thought that I would not be able to show my great grandchildren the wonders of the reef. The idea that in my lifetime I had witnessed a reef in pristine condition & the death of that same coral was soul destroying. 


For me it was a call to action, I didn’t want to face my great grandchildren to explain I had witnessed the death of the Great Barrier Reef and did nothing to protect this World Heritage Area. I studied the science and learnt that the continued use of fossil fuels would push the sea temperature above what the coral needed to survive. For the first time in my life I decided to take protest action and joined Stop Adani Cairns. I decided to dedicate the rest of my life to saving the reef from climate change. 

I call on all who have seen the best of the Great Barrier Reef and want to show their children and future generations to join the fight. 

2 comments

Appreciate your comments John

